Select your Top Menu from wp menus

Perry honors the fallen

AUSTIN – On Friday, Texas Gov. Rick Perry honored peace officers, firefighters, and emergency medical first responders who have been seriously injured or killed in the line of duty for the sacrifices they have made to protect Texans. The governor spoke at the annual Star of Texas Awards.

“September 11th renewed our sense of appreciation for the men and women who are first upon the scene of tragedy and step into harm’s way to protect the innocent,” Gov. Perry said. “I am honored to stand with so many of our state’s finest to present the Star of Texas Awards to those who set aside concerns for their own safety in order to preserve and protect the lives of their fellow citizens.”

The Star of Texas Awards were created through House Bill 1937 in 2003 to honor and commemorate selected first responders who made profound commitments while performing their duties as peace officers, firefighters and emergency medical first responders. House Bill 1937 also designated September 11th as Texas First Responders Day.

In 2005, the award was expanded to include all peace officers, firefighters, and emergency medical first responders who were seriously injured or killed in the line of duty on or after Sept. 1, 2003. The awards were further expanded in 2007 by House Bill 1164 to include federal law enforcement officers or special agents seriously injured or killed while performing duties in Texas to assist a state or local law enforcement agency. Three advisory committees are appointed by the governor to review award nominations each year to ensure they meet statutory criteria.

This year’s award recipients are:

Peace Officers Killed in the Line of Duty:

Timothy Abernathy, Officer, Houston Police Department

Stuart Alexander, Lieutenant, Corpus Christi Police Department

Dayle Weston Hardy, Officer, Plano Police Department

Jeffrey Howard McCoy, Patrolman, Abilene Police Department

Teyran Patterson, Game Warden, Texas Parks and Wildlife Department

Norman Smith, Senior Corporal, Dallas Police Department

Matthew Thebeau, Officer, Corpus Christi Police Department
Randy White, Sergeant, Bridgeport Police Department

Firefighters Killed in the Line of Duty:

James Campbell, Firefighter, Pendleton Harbor Volunteer Fire Department

Cory Galloway, Firefighter, Kilgore Fire Department

James Harlow, Captain, Houston Fire Department

Damion Hobbs, Firefighter, Houston Fire Department

Joe Pat Jordan, Secretary/Treasurer, Pickton Pine Forest Volunteer Fire Department

Kyle Perkins, Firefighter, Kilgore Fire Department

First Responders Killed in the Line of Duty:

Robert Goss, Valley Air Care

Raul Garcia, Valley Air Care

Michael Sanchez, Valley Air Care

Peace Officers Seriously Injured in the Line of Duty:

Carlos Diaz, Officer, Harlingen Police Department

Dennis Hankins, Officer, West Orange Police Department

Kevin Holley, Deputy Sheriff, Dallas County Sheriff’s Department

Michael Jarmin, Officer, Bay City Police Department

Zachary McBride, Investigator, Guadalupe County Sheriff’s Department

Rodney McCrory, Officer, North Richland Hills Police Department

Lloyd Morrison, Senior Police Officer, Houston Police Department

Brian Motto, Brazoria County Sheriff’s Office

Craig Mrosko, Officer, Waco Police Department

Angel Perez, Deputy Sheriff, Cameron County Sheriff’s Department

Michel Roy, Galveston County Sheriff’s Office

Steven Rutherford, Officer, Farmers Branch Police Department

Richard Salter, Senior Police Officer, Houston Police Department

Kevin Schmidt, Officer, Flower Mound Police Department

Doyle Thorn, Sergeant, Matagorda County Sheriff’s Office

Firefighters Injured in the Line of Duty:

Cody Schroeder, Firefighter, Beaumont Fire/Rescue Department