Monday, May 20, 2024
HomeLocal / Area NewsCPD 2010 Awards

CPD 2010 Awards

The Conroe Police Department honored outstanding officers Friday night at the 2010 Awards Ceremony, held at the Willis Community Center.

Police Chief Philip Dupuis began with an acknowledgement of former Police Chief Charlie Ray, who retired last May 31. Dupuis, then Chief Deputy, became the acting Chief and officially took over the top spot in October. Dupuis said he was proud to have been a part of Ray’s administration.

Officer Eddie Davis was named Officer of the Year and Sgt. Jeff Christy received the Sgt. Ed Holcomb Jr. Memorial Award.

Officers were honored for a wide variety of reasons for their actions on and off-duty. Officer Dawn Ballard received a commendation for taking time from her family on Christmas to deliver gifts to those less fortunate.

Detective Nolan Fannin received the Life Saving Award for performing a life-saving Heimlich Maneuver on an elderly diner in the restaurant where he was attending a Christmas luncheon on Dec. 8. Chief Dupuis said the choking victim was “turning colors” when Fannin cleared the obstruction and saved his life.

Sgt. Joe Smart received the Life Saving Award for successfully talking a New Orleans Police officer out of committing suicide on Dec. 17. Sgt. Smart was also named 100 Club Officer of the Year.

Officer Allan Bell received the Life Saving Award for removing a victim from burning crash debris on Oct. 24. Officer Bell was also named 100 Club Rookie of the Year.

Officers Gerrit Wolfhagen and Ralph Horne received Meritorious Service Awards for capturing a theft suspect who had $25,000 in HardiPlank siding on February 25.

Officer Mark Schwind received the Meritorious Service Award for creating an expedited filing process.

Officer Justin Devore was honored for capturing robbery suspects in July.

Ralph Schultz was named Volunteer of the Year and Judy Walters was recognized as Civilian Employee of the Year.

(Scroll down for photo gallery)

The Conroe Police Officers Association sponsored a reception following the dinner and awards.

Complete list of Award Recipients:

Sergeant Ed Holcomb, Jr. Memorial Award
Sgt. Jeff Christy

Officer of the Year
Office Eddie Davis

Civilian Employee of the Year
Judy Walters

Volunteer of the Year
Ralph Schultz

Meritorious Service Awards
Officer Gerrit Wolfhagen
Officer Ralph Horne
Officer Mark Schwind
Officer Justin Devore

Officer Dawn Ballard

Life Saving Awards
Officer Allan Bell
Detective Nolan Fannin
Sgt. Joe Smart

100 Club Officer of the Year
Sgt. Joe Smart

100 Club Rookie of the Year
Officer Allan Bell

Length of Service Recognition

5 years
Officer Tyson Raleigh
Officer Ashley Brockett
Officer Michael Dean
Officer James Kelemen
Officer Wade Okland
Officer Lee Tipton
Sgt. Mark Walls
Officer Raymond McCreary
Jessica Clemons
Margaret Dalgleish

10 years
Officer James Phillips
Officer Joey Ferraro
Officer Chris Lehman
Officer David Dickenson
Carmen Miller
Judy Walters

15 Years
Sergeant Robert Engel
Officer Roger LaCarter

20 Years
Sgt. Mark Holt
Officer Eddie Davis

25 Years
Deputy Chief Michael Hansen
Chief Philip Dupuis
Officer Troy Roberts

Click photos to enlarge

Email the site administrator at

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -

Most Popular

- Advertisment -

Recent Comments

- Advertisment -